What is RAID – RAID 0, 1, 5, 10

what is raid

Read Time1 Minute, 51 Second

As you are a geek, you have heard about RAID somewhere. Or in your syllabus, you have it but are not getting from the book. You only know that it is a data storage virtualization technique. Here, you will get to know much more than that. Keep reading!

What is RAID?

RAID stands for a redundant array of independent (inexpensive) disks. It is a data storage technology for multiple disk drives which creates their one or more logical components to improve data redundancy, performance improvement, and reliability.

Standard Levels:

There are various levels of the RAID referred to as “RAID levels”, which provide different ways to control data redundancy, and performance. Let’s see a few of them.

RAID Level 0:

Level 0 is based on striping. Here there is no data reliability and data redundancy. Instead, it focuses only on performance improvement.

It tries to equally distribute the data among all the disk drives. But if one drive fails, the whole RAID 0 fails.

Means there is no reliability. But, it also improves concurrent read/write speeds.

Level 1:

RAID 1 is based on mirroring. It comprises mirrored sets where both drives comprise the same data.

Here reliability is greater. So that if one drive fails, the data can be recovered by another.

But at the same time, the throughput read speed is significantly decreased than the actual read speed of a single disk drive.

When the data is to be written, it has to be written on both drives. This significantly reduces performance.

Level 5:

RAID 5 is based on distributed parity. Here, parity is distributed among the drives. Minimum three drives are required to implement it.

Upon the failure or loss of a single hard drive, the data can be recovered with the help of distributed parities among the other drives.

This system is susceptible to system failures because it might cause a failure of a drive during array rebuild.

Level 10:

This RAID 10 level is obtained by combining the levels 1 and 0. Here the data is stripped and their mirrors are created. It’s cost and performance are higher than level 1.

Follow our YouTube channel to stay updated!

Also Read: What Is Bitcoin? Explained Everything!